{"id":785,"date":"2026-10-27T11:25:58","date_gmt":"2026-10-27T14:25:58","guid":{"rendered":"https:\/\/cyc-ca.com\/reforma-tributaria-2026\/franquicia-sence-0-7-2026\/"},"modified":"2026-10-27T13:50:18","modified_gmt":"2026-10-27T16:50:18","slug":"franquicia-sence-0-7-2026","status":"publish","type":"page","link":"https:\/\/cyc-ca.com\/en\/reforma-tributaria-2026\/franquicia-sence-0-7-2026\/","title":{"rendered":"SENCE franchise: reduced from 1 % to 0.7 % and two dates in dispute"},"content":{"rendered":"<h1 class=\"wp-block-heading\">SENCE franchise: reduced from 1 % to 0.7 % and two dates in dispute<\/h1>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\">Law No. 21,850 reduces by 30% the training credit that companies deduct from their first-category tax. What is unclear is when this reduction will take effect: the law does not specify a date, and the Internal Revenue Service (SII) reports it as of January 1, 2027.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<h2 class=\"wp-block-heading\">In brief<\/h2>\n\n\n\n<blockquote class=\"wp-block-quote is-layout-flow wp-block-quote-is-layout-flow\">\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\">The SENCE tax franchise goes from <strong>1 % to 0.7 %<\/strong> of taxable income. It&#039;s a cut of <strong>30 %<\/strong> of the credit.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\">Limits are added per worker: the amount attributable cannot exceed <strong>80 %<\/strong> of the cost for remuneration up to 25 UTM, the <strong>50 %<\/strong> between 25 and 50 UTM and the <strong>15 %<\/strong> about 50 UTM. The difference is financed by the company and <strong>the worker cannot be transferred<\/strong>.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\">The courses already registered have <strong>six months<\/strong> to adapt: up to the <strong>17-04-2027<\/strong>.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\"><strong>Validity: two readings.<\/strong> The law does not specify a particular effective date for this change, so as a general rule it takes effect from <strong>01-11-2026<\/strong>. The SII, on its law portal, reports the <strong>01-01-2027<\/strong>, without citing the rule.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\"><strong>Legislation<\/strong> \u00b7 Law No. 21,850, article 29 (modifies articles 36, 37, 42 and 59 of Law No. 19,518) and ninth, twenty-second and twenty-third transitional articles, published in the Official Gazette on 10-17-2026<\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\"><strong>Verified on 27-10-2026<\/strong><\/p>\n<\/blockquote>\n\n\n\n<h2 class=\"wp-block-heading\">1. What changes<\/h2>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\">Article 29 of Law No. 21,850 provides: <span class=\"cc-cita-ley\" data-no-auto-translation=\"\">\u00abReempl\u00e1zase, en el inciso primero del art\u00edculo 36, la expresi\u00f3n &#8220;equivalente al uno por ciento&#8221; por &#8220;equivalente al 0,7 por ciento&#8221;\u00bb<\/span>. It makes the same change in article 42 and in the final paragraph of article 59 of Law No. 19,518.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\">In numbers: for a company with an annual payroll of M$ 1,000,000, the credit limit increases to <strong>M$ 10,000 to M$ 7,000<\/strong>. It is a credit that is no longer deducted from the first category tax, not an advance payment that is recovered later.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\"><em>Reference example, without customer data.<\/em><\/p>\n\n\n\n<h2 class=\"wp-block-heading\">2. The new limits per worker<\/h2>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\">In addition to lowering the percentage, the law limits how much of the cost of each course can be charged to the franchise, depending on the remuneration of the worker being trained:<\/p>\n\n\n\n<figure class=\"wp-block-table\"><table><thead><tr><th>Employee remuneration<\/th><th>Maximum amount attributable to the franchise<\/th><\/tr><\/thead><tbody><tr><td>Up to 25 UTM<\/td><td><strong>80 %<\/strong> of the cost<\/td><\/tr><tr><td>Between 25 and 50 UTM<\/td><td><strong>50 %<\/strong> of the cost<\/td><\/tr><tr><td>About 50 UTM<\/td><td><strong>15 %<\/strong> of the cost<\/td><\/tr><\/tbody><\/table><\/figure>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\">The company pays the difference, and the law prevents the worker from recovering it: it&#039;s a difference. <span class=\"cc-cita-ley\" data-no-auto-translation=\"\">\u00abla que no podr\u00e1 ser trasladada, directa o indirectamente, al trabajador participante\u00bb<\/span>.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<h2 class=\"wp-block-heading\">3. Since when: the two dates<\/h2>\n\n\n\n<figure class=\"wp-block-table\"><table><thead><tr><th>Reading<\/th><th>Date<\/th><th>Basis<\/th><\/tr><\/thead><tbody><tr><td>General rule of law<\/td><td><strong>01-11-2026<\/strong><\/td><td>Article 29 has no special validity period. Transitional Article Nine stipulates that anything without a specific date remains in effect. <span class=\"cc-cita-ley\" data-no-auto-translation=\"\">\u00aba contar del primer d\u00eda del mes siguiente al de su publicaci\u00f3n en el Diario Oficial\u00bb<\/span><\/td><\/tr><tr><td>SII<\/td><td><strong>01-01-2027<\/strong><\/td><td>Portal \u00abReconstruction Law\u00bb, entry \u00abModification to the Sence Credit\u00bb: \u00abEffective date: January 1, 2027\u00bb and \u00abPermanent Regulation\u00bb. It does not cite an article.<\/td><\/tr><\/tbody><\/table><\/figure>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\"><strong>We are not giving a specific date.<\/strong> Both interpretations are defensible: ours rests on the fact that the law does not assign a special date to this article; the SII&#039;s interpretation comes from the agency that administers the credit in the income tax return, but does not show the rule on which it is based.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\"><strong>In practice:<\/strong> If your company has training activities scheduled for November or December 2026, it is advisable to review them on a case-by-case basis before committing to them, taking into account the 1 %.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<h2 class=\"wp-block-heading\">4. Courses already registered and OTIC<\/h2>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\"><strong>Courses already enrolled.<\/strong> The twenty-second transitional article gives them <strong>six months<\/strong> to comply with the new rules. Counted from the date of publication, the deadline ends on <strong>17-04-2027<\/strong>.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\"><strong>OTIC.<\/strong> A new Article 29 bis sets a cap of <strong>10 %<\/strong> of the total contributions administered for the administrative expenses of the intermediate technical bodies for training.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<h2 class=\"wp-block-heading\">5. The counterweight: more tax revenue<\/h2>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\">The twenty-third transitional article obliges the Budget Law of <strong>2027, 2028 and 2029<\/strong> to consider an additional tax contribution of <strong>MM$ 10,000<\/strong> annual, exclusively destined for the training actions of letter d) of article 46 of Law No. 19.518, increasing by that amount the resources executed in 2026. The private franchise decreases and the public contribution increases.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<h2 class=\"wp-block-heading\">6. Frequently Asked Questions<\/h2>\n\n\n\n<h3 class=\"wp-block-heading\">How much does the SENCE franchise fee decrease?<\/h3>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\">From 1 % to 0.7 % of taxable remuneration. This is a reduction of 30 % of the credit that is deducted from the first category tax.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<h3 class=\"wp-block-heading\">Since when has it been in effect?<\/h3>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\">There are two possible interpretations. The law doesn&#039;t specify a particular effective date, so as a general rule it applies from November 1, 2026. The Chilean Internal Revenue Service (SII) states on its website that it will take effect on January 1, 2027, without citing the relevant regulation. We cannot confirm either date.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<h3 class=\"wp-block-heading\">What happens to courses that are already registered?<\/h3>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\">They have six months to adapt to the new rules, according to the twenty-second transitional article: until 17-04-2027.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<h3 class=\"wp-block-heading\">What are the 80, 50 and 15 % limits?<\/h3>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\">These are the maximum costs of each course that can be charged to the franchise, depending on the employee&#039;s salary: 80 % up to 25 UTM, 50 % between 25 and 50 UTM, and 15 % over 50 UTM. The company finances the rest.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<h3 class=\"wp-block-heading\">Can I charge the worker the difference?<\/h3>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\">No. The law expressly states that the difference cannot be passed on, directly or indirectly, to the participating worker.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<h3 class=\"wp-block-heading\">Does anything change for OTICs?<\/h3>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\">Yes. Their administrative expenses are limited to 10 % of the total contributions they manage (new article 29 bis).<\/p>\n\n\n\n<h3 class=\"wp-block-heading\">Is there any compensation?<\/h3>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\">On the public side. Between 2027 and 2029, the Budget Law must include an additional MM$ 10,000 annually for training actions under letter d) of article 46 of Law No. 19,518.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<h3 class=\"wp-block-heading\">What do I do about my plans for November and December?<\/h3>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\">Review each case individually before committing to courses that include the 1 %. Until the expiration date is clarified, this is the way to avoid surprises on your tax return.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<h2 class=\"wp-block-heading\">7. Sources and regulations<\/h2>\n\n\n\n<ul class=\"wp-block-list\">\n<li><strong>Law No. 21,850<\/strong>, <span class=\"cc-cita-ley\" data-no-auto-translation=\"\">\u00abPara la Reconstrucci\u00f3n Nacional y el Desarrollo Econ\u00f3mico y Social\u00bb<\/span>, published in the Official Gazette on <strong>17-10-2026<\/strong>, CVE 2888352. <strong>Article 29<\/strong> and articles <strong>ninth, twenty-second and twenty-third transitional articles<\/strong>.<\/li>\n\n\n\n<li>Law No. 19.518, Training and Employment Statute: articles 36, 37, 42, 46 and 59.<\/li>\n\n\n\n<li><strong>SII Portal, &quot;Reconstruction Law&quot;\u00ab<\/strong>, &quot;Modification to the Sence credit&quot; form, consulted on <strong>27-10-2026<\/strong>.<\/li>\n<\/ul>\n\n\n\n<h2 class=\"wp-block-heading\">Let&#039;s discuss your case<\/h2>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\">If your company uses the SENCE franchise, the change affects the training budget and the tax credit on your next tax return. We review which actions need adjusting and how the credit will be affected. Check out our service for <a href=\"https:\/\/cyc-ca.com\/en\/servicios\/remuneraciones\/\">our payroll &amp; HR service<\/a>, Write to us via WhatsApp or through our contact form.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<h2 class=\"wp-block-heading\">Read more<\/h2>\n\n\n\n<ul class=\"wp-block-list\">\n<li><a href=\"https:\/\/cyc-ca.com\/en\/reforma-tributaria-2026\/\">Tax Reform 2026 in Chile: Law No. 21,850, what changes and with what deadlines<\/a> \u2014 the complete view, with the windows and their dates.<\/li>\n\n\n\n<li><a href=\"https:\/\/cyc-ca.com\/en\/reforma-tributaria-2026\/impuesto-sustitutivo-2026-fur-stut-retiros-exceso\/\">Substitute tax 2026: eight months to regularize FUR, STUT and excess withdrawals<\/a><\/li>\n\n\n\n<li><a href=\"https:\/\/cyc-ca.com\/en\/reforma-tributaria-2026\/rebaja-idpc-27-23-calendario-reintegracion\/\">From 27 % to 23 %: the four calendars of the first category tax reduction<\/a><\/li>\n\n\n\n<li><a href=\"https:\/\/cyc-ca.com\/en\/reforma-tributaria-2026\/deudas-municipales-condonacion-2026\/\">Municipal debts: forgiveness of interest and fines, with a deadline that expires on the same day it opens<\/a><\/li>\n\n\n\n<li><a href=\"https:\/\/cyc-ca.com\/en\/reforma-tributaria-2026\/avaluo-fiscal-contribuciones-transparencia-sii\/\">Tax assessment: the SII will have to publish how it calculates its contributions, and with that, it can be reviewed<\/a><\/li>\n\n\n\n<li><a href=\"https:\/\/cyc-ca.com\/en\/reforma-tributaria-2026\/patentes-aseo-impagos-devolucion-renta-2027\/\">Unpaid municipal taxes and cleaning fees: from 2027 the Treasury can deduct them from your income tax refund<\/a><\/li>\n<\/ul>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\"><em>This article is for informational purposes only and does not constitute tax advice for any specific case. The figures were verified against the text of Law No. 21,850 published in the Official Gazette on October 17, 2026, and against the SENCE credit information sheet on the SII website, consulted on October 27, 2026. Content updated as of October 27, 2026.<\/em><\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"cc-nota-prevalencia\" data-no-translation style=\"font-size:14px;line-height:1.6;color:#5A6675;border-top:1px solid #e3e7ee;padding-top:12px;margin-top:24px\"><em>This English version is a courtesy translation, machine-assisted and reviewed in part. The Spanish version prevails. Literal quotations of Chilean law are kept in Spanish, as a translation of statutory text would not be authentic. Figures and deadlines were verified against the Diario Oficial text of Law No. 21,850 of 17 October 2026. Dates are shown as day-month-year.<\/em><\/p>","protected":false},"excerpt":{"rendered":"<p>Franquicia SENCE: baja de 1 % a 0,7 % y dos fechas en disputa La Ley N\u00b0 21.850 recorta en 30 % el cr\u00e9dito por capacitaci\u00f3n que las empresas descuentan de su impuesto de primera categor\u00eda. Lo que no est\u00e1 claro es desde cu\u00e1ndo: la ley no fija una fecha especial y el SII informa [&hellip;]<\/p>\n","protected":false},"author":282770972,"featured_media":0,"parent":527,"menu_order":0,"comment_status":"closed","ping_status":"closed","template":"","meta":{"advanced_seo_description":"Ley 21.850: la franquicia SENCE baja de 1 % a 0,7 % y suma topes por trabajador. La ley no fija vigencia especial; el SII informa el 01-01-2027.","jetpack_seo_html_title":"","jetpack_seo_noindex":false,"jetpack_seo_schema_type":"article","_wpcom_ai_launchpad_about_page":false,"_wpcom_ai_launchpad_gallery_page":false,"_wpcom_ai_launchpad_contact_page":false,"_wpcom_ai_launchpad_events_page":false,"_wpcom_ai_launchpad_video_page":false,"_wpcom_ai_launchpad_portfolio_piece":false,"_jetpack_hide_featured_image":false,"_jetpack_featured_image_duplicate_dismissed":0,"footnotes":"","big_sky_generated":false},"class_list":["post-785","page","type-page","status-publish","hentry"],"jetpack_likes_enabled":true,"jetpack_sharing_enabled":true,"jetpack_shortlink":"https:\/\/wp.me\/PhkR42-cF","jetpack-related-posts":[],"_links":{"self":[{"href":"https:\/\/cyc-ca.com\/en\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/pages\/785","targetHints":{"allow":["GET"]}}],"collection":[{"href":"https:\/\/cyc-ca.com\/en\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/pages"}],"about":[{"href":"https:\/\/cyc-ca.com\/en\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/types\/page"}],"author":[{"embeddable":true,"href":"https:\/\/cyc-ca.com\/en\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/users\/282770972"}],"replies":[{"embeddable":true,"href":"https:\/\/cyc-ca.com\/en\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/comments?post=785"}],"version-history":[{"count":1,"href":"https:\/\/cyc-ca.com\/en\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/pages\/785\/revisions"}],"predecessor-version":[{"id":799,"href":"https:\/\/cyc-ca.com\/en\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/pages\/785\/revisions\/799"}],"up":[{"embeddable":true,"href":"https:\/\/cyc-ca.com\/en\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/pages\/527"}],"wp:attachment":[{"href":"https:\/\/cyc-ca.com\/en\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/media?parent=785"}],"curies":[{"name":"wp","href":"https:\/\/api.w.org\/{rel}","templated":true}]}}